The Black Goddess Forum
The Divine Mother
Men and the Divine Mother
The Reading Room
Favorite Links

In blackness there is great virtue, if you will but observe its beauty.. Black ambergris has the purest fragrance.... Antar

The Hidden Book of Amenti

Within the system of Kundalini, the third eye is referred to as the ajna center or chakra. When one aspires to ones ajna center, they are in the midst of great power. The ajna chakra is the most powerful center of the six chakras. The sixth chakra is a synthesis of the previous five with, of course, balance from the heart chakra. All chakras denote endocrine glands and their secretions; lesser chakras extend from the central tree to the appendages of the body. Thus, the pineal gland or third eye signifies the higher fruit of the human tree of life. The physiological system represents that tree. It is also the divine doorway to Amen and diefication, leading to ever-higher levels of consciousness. When ones third eye is open, her psychic and spiritual powers defy limits and are infinite. It is also called the Master gland due to the fact that it is responsible for the manufacturing of various chemicals and proteins proper to body function. (Gerber, 1988)

The pineal gland, and more, was understood by the ancient elders who saw this organ as the doorway to higher and deeper consciousness, the sixth chakra leading to eternal bliss. The pineal gland is black serpent, which saddles the middle of both brows. It was and is extensively used by aboriginals to represent a host of concepts. In all its complexity, the pineal gland and melanin- serotonin cycles herald the illumination of the Sphinx, Holy Black Kaba stone, sacred languages, the pyramids and obelisk, the cycles of the great year, the eye at the summit of the triangle and other manifestations of higher spiritual feeling and idea.

The pineal gland also has been metaphorically and literally characterized in the form of deities and lesser divine spirits. Some of the most noted are Medusa of Libya, Kundalini of Indus-Kush, Buto of Kush, Naga of Meroe/Indus and Lamia of Babylon. Female representation is the most common, due to the females physiology, which is transformative and receptive to cosmic and cyclic stirring. Also, recent Western scientists have reconfirmed that the female, physiologically has a bigger pineal gland then men. The reasons given for this are speculative, however they suggest that it was reflective of the fertility cycles of women-maturation, birth, menstruation and menopause which are heavily depended on light and dark cycles for regulation.

The Serpent, representing the pineal gland, is still used to denote women, medicine and healing practices, psychic manifestation, spiritual concepts, power, the devil, God, otherworldliness and blackness. At one time in human antiquity, all words and symbols denoted serpents of some kind or the other, for instance, the serpent in the sky, fiery serpent, moon serpents, the serpents of the sun, the serpents of the underworld, serpent woman, the serpents of the Upper Nile Valley, the serpent living in the trees...etc. It is the immortal Uraeus that characterizes all form, time and space; earth (Bata) fires (Heh and Kheh) air (Nef) and water (Hydra). The worlds first known mystics denoted serpentiness and also blackness. These divine citadels of eternal truth, like Kali, Krishna, Tara, Ptah, Auset and Het Heru have their special relationship to serpents and also to blackness. However they are also referred to as the illumined masters, the light, the star, the sun and that which shines above all. This is blackness and its hidden relationship to light and serpents. (2)

Still under construction

The Light emerges from the Darkness.